demoshift.blogg.se

Western digital my passport for mac won't recognize drive
Western digital my passport for mac won't recognize drive





western digital my passport for mac won
  1. Western digital my passport for mac won't recognize drive upgrade#
  2. Western digital my passport for mac won't recognize drive full#
  3. Western digital my passport for mac won't recognize drive portable#

I had also waited for the encryption feature to finish. When the backup was done I couldn't unmount the drive.

Western digital my passport for mac won't recognize drive full#

First thing I did was reformat it in disk utility with the mac journaling and I did a full back up. Initially the drive mounted fine out of the box. Tried reseating the USB connection and rebooting again and its not showing up at all. When I installed the Paragon NTFS for Mac and restarted my macbook the WD Passport drive seemed to mount and appeared for just a moment after logging back in and then it disappeared.

western digital my passport for mac won

While being booted into BootWell™ it allows you to unmount your internal hard drive and get into a booted environment so you can recover files from your main startup hard drive and avoid the added steps of creating your own bootable copy of Data Rescue." BootWell™ allows you to create a special secondary startup drive that can be used to recover files from your main startup hard drive. "Introducing Data Rescue's NEW BootWell™ Technology. Any thoughts on the benefit of having the flash drive, as opposed to just running Data Rescue from another hard drive? I turned a spare 2.5" HD into a rescue drive a while back, with partitions for four OS versions, with my preferred disk utilities installed in each.Ĭan't see any reason to get the flash drive. When you go to check out in the purchase process, you find a Data Rescue 4 flash drive ("Bootwell") added to your "basket" for an additional $15.

Western digital my passport for mac won't recognize drive upgrade#

I took a look at the upgrade (I have Data Rescue 3). All three have given me superb service and zero problems.

Western digital my passport for mac won't recognize drive portable#

I have two of the desktop model shown and one of its portable version for my MacBook Pro. By far the best enclosures for Mac external drives are those from OWC: All have WD bare drives inside but none are in WD encosures. It gets rid of the proprietary formatting that seem to contribute to the problems.

western digital my passport for mac won

That often makes the drive more reliable without having to revert to USB hubs or special cables. Once you get the files you need off the external, consider erasing and reformating it to Mac Extended Journaled using Disk Utility. WD makes very good bare drives but the enclosures into which they put them to make an external drive are not very good and not particually Mac-Friendly. To get such a drive going again, you need one of two workabouts:ġ) a powered USB hub (has its own power supply to make up the shortfall) that goes between the external drive and the computer.Ģ) use a "Y" USB cable to get power from two USB ports simultaneously (such as )Īlso, WD uses an odd proprietary formatting scheme that is of itself a problem area. Not the best solution for a desktop computer. The Passport is bus-powered, getting all its power from a USB port. Historically, the problem has been that many USB-powered drives can't get enough power from a USB port after they begin to age.







Western digital my passport for mac won't recognize drive